Popakademie
Academics / M.A. Popular Music / Content

What will I learn?



The degree in Popular Music is artistic, creative and practical, and aimed at all university graduates who have practical experience in music at a high level and want to deepen and expand their existing skills. An important aspect of studying at the Popakademie is the close, intensive collaborations with highly qualified lecturers from Germany and abroad.

The four-semester master’s programme is divided into two steps: The first year focusses on coursework, while in the second year the students realise their own, independent master’s projects.

Academic qualifications, development and fine-tuning of artistic personality are cultivated within three major fields of study: Performing Artist, Educating Artist, Producing/Composing Artist.

For the Performing Artist, the focus is on the implementation of musical projects while taking multimedia processes into account. In addition to continuing instruction in your major, you will realise an independent master project in the second year of your studies, which may be a concert or a music production in which you use the learned multimedia options such as lighting technology, visuals or cover design.

The Educating Artist will also deal with the implementation of educational projects. Here you will be trained in the teaching popular music for different target groups in schools and extracurricular institutions. In addition to a concert, the Educating Artist also carries out a project in targeted popular music education.

The concentrations Performing and Educating Artist can be chosen within the majors vocals, electric guitar, electric bass, drums or keyboard. By working on the professionalisation of stage presence and your own performance, your own profile and artistic personality are further developed and honed during your studies.

Departments

Signing and Songwriting
Performing Artist
During your studies, we try to bring you to the necessary level for your band in singing and songwriting: How do I write lyrics? What tools and tricks will help me sing in a healthy way? What kind of sounds can I create with my own voice? How can I improvise with my voice?
Then we look at themes such as circle singing, writing choral arrangements, working with the loop station, effects and computer programmes, ad-hoc songwriting, International Songwriter Week, singing standard repertoire, getting to know other singing techniques, interview training, artist profiles, stage work and the planning of your master’s concert.

Educating Artist
Our mutual goal is to pick you up where you left off with your previous studies. We would like to provide you with methodic-didactic tools to be well positioned in the field of pop music. Body scanning (polarity, shiatsu, music kinesiology), current vocal techniques of popular music (EVT, CVT, Estill, functional voice training, speech level), in combination with singing standard repertoire and songwriting. This is followed by topics such as circle singing, writing choral arrangements, working with effects and computer programmes.

Department head: Prof. Annette Marquard. Additional lecturers from the singing/songwriting department.
Guitar
Major
The main focus is on fine-tuning your personal profile. You will not only make your mark through your technical skills on your instrument, but also contribute to the music world through your unique artistic personality. This is why the strengthening of this identity is of utmost important and is tied together with concrete goal-setting.

Lecturers:
1st semester: Peter Wölpl
2nd semester: Jan Zehrfeld
3rd semester: Gagey Mrozeck
4th semester: Kosho Koschorrek

Minor
Lecturers: Gagey Mrozeck & Kosho Koschorrek, prior knowledge is not required, but allowed.
  • General fretboard navigation, basic overview for correlations of chords & scales, open tunings
  • Chord inversions to develop and expand songwriting abilities on the guitar
  • Song examples, guitar riff compilation and exercises for different guitar styles
  • Relevant basic knowledge about the different guitar types and their sound and play types; amps, effects and sounds

Department head: Prof. Peter Wölpl. Additional lecturers from the guitar department.
Bass
We’ll prepare you for a sustainable career as a live performance and recording session musician. The emphasis in the classroom is on sound formation based on influential bassists, sensitivity for tone lengths and timing as a groove factor and phrasing as a basis for bass lines and melodies. Furthermore, playing with a pick and using slap technique are part of the instruction.

Grouping, phrase-shifting and equipment instruction are key topics throughout the course of study. We also include stylistics and a detour into the sight-reading genre such as musical, orchestra pit and conducting, the ternary rhythms as well as ethnic and fusion music with all its complexity.

Our goal is to set you up with the broad skills needed to meet the challenges of a career as a professional bassist.

Department head: Prof. Frank Itt. Additional lecturers from the bass department.
Drums
Department head: Prof. Udo Dahmen. Additional lecturers from the drums department.
Keyboard
Now that you’ve acquired many skills and your talent has been promoted, we will support you on your journey to become a complete artistic personality.

For this it is necessary to analyse which strengths and weaknesses favour or prevent an optimal position on the market. Accordingly, we will create an individual programme with you, focusing on creativity, mastering of the instrument, stylistic confidence, virtuosity and flexibility.

We will work on technical exercises, transcriptions and your own compositions and arrangements. In addition, you’ll have the opportunity to deepen your knowledge in the fields of sound aesthetics or keyboard sounds as well as arranging electronic music for keyboarders.

Department head: Prof. Mathias "Maze" Leber. Additional lecturers from the keyboard department.
Popular Music Education
The main focus of the Educating Artist programme is not only to further develop artistic personalities in the field of popular music in their artistic activities, but also to further develop, deepen, specialise and professionalise their pedagogical skills. The course contents are designed to be hands-on, teaching a variety of models and concepts of popular music education. In addition, you will learn theoretical knowledge, which enables the Educating Artist to coach music at a high level, tailored to different target groups and goals.

At the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg, our experience has shown that there is increasing demand for authentic artists who are also able to impart their art to others. Changes in the educational landscape (e.g. full-day schools, integrated classrooms, cultural education, etc.) have created new opportunities for artists with pedagogical qualifications.
The course contents are intended to educate artists so that they can teach popular music in targeted music coaching sessions. These target groups run the gamut, from pre-schoolers to high schoolers, children with special needs, adults and seniors. As a freelance artist you will be able to work with various institutions to meet different goals.

Although the Educating Artist works primarily as a freelancer/self-employed, many of our alumni have gone on to get fixed employment at e.g. music schools, public and private schools, vocational schools, public institutions or in youth cultural education.

Department head: Prof. Axel Schwarz. Additional lecturers from the popular music education department.

For the Producing/Composing Artist, this concentration offers topics such as songwriting, production, film scores, lyrics and arrangement. The creation of your own compositions, songs, lyrics and productions is the main focus. For that reason we work on perfecting your role as a service provider for band projects and music productions in all media using music, such as sound design, film, jingles or games.

Departments

Producing
Those with bachelor’s degrees in the field of music or sound engineering learn the craft of music production and how to handle special, less frequently used and difficult-to-implement techniques and settings under technically high-quality conditions, beyond the experience you bring to the table. This happens largely under individually coordinated coaching. You can test acquired knowledge in contexts that are as demanding as they are diversified in terms of technical resources as well as musical, temporal and team-specific circumstances. This not least allows you to find your individual working style, philosophy and areas of development. At the same time, theoretical background, generalized basic principles as well as special phenomena of the producing field are scientifically recorded, researched and questioned, thus opening up an overall musical understanding.

Those with bachelor’s degrees in the fields of sound engineering will be able to expand their knowledge as well as practice-related connections to their skills. You will also come into contact with a wide variety of work and music styles. DJ and EDM producers, singers and instrumentalists with prior knowledge of producing will be offered the opportunity to expand their skills to include a variety of high-level techniques and methods. Songwriters and composers who need to expand their skills to the competent and versatile audio production of their compositions, both true-to-genre and cross-genre, will gain the necessary knowledge and practical experience.

All students are offered the opportunity to get to know comprehensive studio work and the pop music production situation in its diversity.

Course Contents in Detail
Arrangement, recording, sound design, groove and beat programming, production of your own projects and individual assignments, electronic music producing (EMP) and remixing, sound engineering with a focus on stylistic design and sound trends, analysis, new technologies for production and distribution, film music in production and business, working with surround sound formats, games music, sound branding and advertising, development of individual tools and work environments, group dynamic processes in the recording / production situation, psychological skills in dealing with the artistic production situation, techniques of artistic influence / design in studio-related creative situations, producer typologies, handling of the human voice in the context of popular music / vocal-producing (deepened), vocal arrangement and vocal arrangement in the studio, orchestral arrangement and recording in the studio, extended instrumental knowledge (focus on ethnicity e and rare instruments), mixdown in various settings and contexts, mastering (deepening), conducting productions / recording of existing or to-build acts with mentoring by faculty, music business practice and knowledge especially for producers, songwriters, EM producers and DJs, music business in the field of medial music, specials by and for producers.

Department head: Prof. Florian Sitzmann. Additional lecturers from the producing department.
Music Theory and Composition
In the composition department, we focus on teaching technical and artistic skills required for composing and arranging popular music.

Specifically, we work on foundations of composing, learning different approaches, working on your own concepts and finding your compositional voice, simulating commission situations and mastering counterpoint using multi-vocal arrangements for strings, winds/brass or choir.

In addition, you’ve gain insight into the world of film music, gaming music and music for commercials. In individual and group lessons, your individual composition strengths will be reinforced, and the process of creating music and its results will be optimised. Internationally recognised songwriters, film composers and arrangers are ready to assist our students through additional workshops.

Department head: Prof. Alexander Paeffgen. Additional ilecturers from the music theory/composition department.

Artist Profiles

Performing Artist
Technically savvy on your instrument, you also have a strong artistic personality. You run the gamut from interdisciplinary concepts to solistic-concertante performances and are often willing to experiment.

The development of your artistic personality will profit from the theoretical study of various areas of art and media theory. The goal is to be able to develop and implement a multimedia concept, individually or in a team, and perform it on stage at the end of the programme.
Producing/Composing Artist
Your core competencies include creating and implementing musical works. These compositions are valuable as artistic pieces as well as use-oriented productions. Your readiness to explore on the fringes of avant garde and experimental fields of music does not preclude your ability to deliver commercially oriented commissioned compositions from the initial idea through to production.

A high level of sound-aesthetic awareness and above-average compositional skills are a prerequisite for developing unique song ideas. As a Producing/Composing Artist you see yourself as a director of sound, connecting your know-how interdisciplinarily with sound design, psychoacoustics, sound aesthetics, multimedia and media theory.
Educating Artist
As an Educating Artist, you boast musical-technical savvy as well as experience in composing and producing music. You can create music with the help of contemporary instruments, such as composing on the computer, and you’re capable of integrating multimedia elements into your work as a music educator. Throughout your studies you will be developing the necessary methodical-didactical skills and applying them theoretically.

You have extensive knowledge of the popular music repertoire. Your acquired methodical-didactical knowledge will be used in practice in new areas, such as with children with special needs, or through band projects at experimental schools. Through these experiences you will develop new concepts and teaching methods, scientifically justified, independently carried out and evaluated.

top

Popakademie
Studium / Popular Music M.A. / Inhalte

Was wird gelehrt?



Der Studiengang ist künstlerisch-kreativ und praxisorientiert ausgelegt und richtet sich an alle Hochschul­absolventen und Absolventinnen, die über eine praktische musikalische Erfahrung auf hohem Niveau verfügen und ihren vorhandenen Kenntnisstand vertiefen und erweitern möchten. Ein wichtiger Aspekt des Studiums an der Popakademie ist dabei die enge und intensive Zusammenarbeit mit hochkarätigen nationalen und internationalen Dozierenden.

Der vier Semester dauernde Master­studiengang ist zweistufig aufgebaut: Im ersten Jahr stehen Lehr­veranstaltungen im Vordergrund, im zweiten Jahr die Realisierung eines eigenständigen Masterprojekts.

Die fachliche Qualifizierung, Entwicklung und Schärfung der künstlerischen Persönlichkeit kann in drei verschiedenen Studienschwerpunkten erfolgen:
Performing Artist, Educating Artist und Producing/­Composing Artist.

Für den Performing Artist steht die Umsetzung musikalischer Projekte unter Berücksichtigung multimedialer Verfahren im Fokus. Neben dem fortgeführten Hauptfachunterricht werden Studierende mit dem Schwerpunkt Performing Artist im zweiten Jahr eigenständig ein Masterprojekt realisieren, welches ein Konzert oder eine Musikproduktion sein kann, bei dem die erlernten multimedialen Möglichkeiten wie Lichttechnik, Visuals oder Covergestaltung zum Einsatz kommen.

Studierende mit dem Schwerpunkt Educating Artist werden sich zudem auch mit der Umsetzung pädagogischer Projekte auseinandersetzen. Hier findet eine Ausbildung statt, die zur pädagogischen Vermittlung Populärer Musik für verschiedene Zielgruppen in schulischen und außerschulischen Einrichtungen befähigt. Neben einem Konzert ist beim Educating Artist auch ein Projekt im Bereich der zielgruppenorientierten Vermittlung von populärer Musik vorgesehen.

In den Schwerpunkten Performing und Educating Artist kann als Hauptfach Gesang, E-Gitarre, E-Bass, Schlagzeug oder Keyboard belegt werden. Mit der Professionalisierung von Bühnenpräsenz und eigener Performance wird im Studium das eigene Profil und die künstlerische Persönlichkeit weiterentwickelt und geschärft.

Departments

Gesang und Songwriting
Performing Artist
Im Studium versuchen wir euch in Bezug auf Gesang und Songwriting auf das Level zu bringen, das ihr für eure Bands braucht. Wie schreibe ich einen Text?, Tools und Tricks, wie singe ich gesund?, welche Sounds kann ich mit der eigenen Stimme erzeugen?, Improvisation mit der Stimme.

Es folgen Themen wie Circlesinging, Schreiben von Chor­arrangements, Arbeiten mit der Loopstation, Effektgeräten und Computerprogrammen, Ad hoc Songwriting, internationale Songwriterweek, Singen von Literatur, Kennenlernen anderer Gesangstechniken, Interview­training, Künstlerprofil, Bühnenarbeit usw. Abschließend wird das Masterkonzert geplant.

Educating Artist
Unser gemeinsames Ziel ist, euch da abzuholen, wo ihr mit eurem bisherigen Studium angekommen seid. Wir möchten euch methodisch didaktische Tools mit auf den Weg geben, um im Bereich Popmusik gut aufgestellt zu sein. Körper-Scanning (Polarity, Shiatsu, Musikkinesiologie), aktuelle Gesangstechniken der Populären Musik (EVT, CVT, Estill, Funktionale Stimmbildung, Speechlevel), in Kombination mit Literatur singen und Songwriting. Es folgen Themen wie Circlesinging, Schreiben von Chor­arrangements, Arbeiten mit Effektgeräten und Computerprogrammen.

Department Chief: Prof. Annette Marquard. Weitere Dozierende.
Gitarre
Hauptfach
Das Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf der persönlichen Profilschärfung des Studierenden. Er sticht nicht nur in technischer Hinsicht auf seinem Instrument hervor, sondern kann auch als künstlerische Persönlichkeit mit individuellem Profil einen eigenständigen Beitrag zur Musikwelt leisten. Es geht also in erster Linie um die Stärkung der eigenen Identität und soll mit möglichst konkreten Zielsetzungen für die persönliche Zukunft verbunden sein.

Dozierende:
1. Semester: Peter Wölpl
2. Semester: Jan Zehrfeld
3. Semester: Gagey Mrozeck
4. Semester: Kosho Koschorrek

Nebenfach
Dozierende: Gagey Mrozeck & Kosho Koschorrek, keine Vorkenntnisse nötig, aber erlaubt.
  • Allgemeine Griffbrett-Navigation, Basis-Überblick für Zusammenhänge von Akkorden & Skalen, Open Tunings
  • Akkordumkehrungen zur Entwicklung und Erweiterung der Songwriting-Fähigkeiten auf der Gitarre
  • Song­beispiele, Guitar Riff-Compilation und Übungen zu verschiedenen Gitarrenstilen
  • Vermittlung von relevantem Grundlagenwissen über die verschiedenen Gitarrentypen und deren Klang & Spielarten: Amps, Effekte & Sounds

Department Chief: Prof. Peter Wölpl. Weitere Dozierende.
Bass
Wir bereiten euch auf eine nachhaltige Karriere als Live- und Session-Musiker/-in vor. Die Schwerpunkte im Unterricht sind die Tonbildung anhand wichtiger stilbildender Bassist/-innen, die Sensibilisierung für Tonlängen und Timing als Groove-Faktor und die Phrasierung als Grundlage für Basslinien und Melodiespiel. Weiterhin sind das Plektrum-Spiel und die Slap-Technik Bestandteile des Unterrichts.

Darüber hinaus sind Grouping, Phrase-Shifting und Equipment-Lehre zentrale Themen, die sich durch das ganze Studium ziehen. Stilkunde und ein Abstecher ins Sight-Reading-Genre wie Musical, Orchestergraben und Dirigat, die ternären Rhythmen sowie in die Ethno- und Fusion-Music mit ihrer Komplexität sind auch Studieninhalte.

Ziel ist es, euch so breit wie möglich aufzustellen, um den Herausforderungen Berufs-Bassisten oder einer Berufs-Bassistin gerecht zu werden.

Department Chief: Prof. Frank Itt. Weitere Dozierende.
Drums
Department Chief: Prof. Udo Dahmen. Weitere Dozierende.
Keyboard
Nachdem du dir schon viele Fähigkeiten erworben hast und dein Talent gefördert wurde, unterstützen wir dich auf deinem Weg zu einer kompletten künstlerischen Persönlichkeit.

Hierzu ist es erforderlich zu analysieren, welche Stärken und Schwächen eine optimale Stellung am Musikmarkt begünstigen oder verhindern. Dementsprechend erstellen wir mit dir ein individuelles Programm, dessen Schwerpunkte Kreativität, Souveränität am Instrument, Stilsicherheit, Virtuosität und Flexibilität sind.

Technische Übungen, Transkriptionen sowie eigene Kompositionen und Arrangements sind praktische Arbeitsbereiche dieses Programms. Außerdem besteht die Möglichkeit, deine Kenntnisse in den Themenfeldern Klangästhetik der Keyboardsounds sowie Arrangieren elektronischer Musik für Keyboarder/-innen zu vertiefen.

Du wirst in der Lage sein, diese Qualitäten im Proberaum, auf der Bühne und im Studio sowohl als personelle Leitung als auch in unterstützender Form einbringen zu können.

Department Chief: Prof. Mathias "Maze" Leber. Weitere Dozierende.
Pädagogik Populäre Musik
Der Studienschwerpunkt Educating Artist verfolgt als generelles Lernziel, Künstler­persönlichkeiten im Bereich der Populären Musik nicht nur in ihrem künstlerischen Tun weiterzubilden, sondern darüber hinaus auch ihre pädagogischen Fähigkeiten weiterzuentwickeln, zu vertiefen, zu spezialisieren und zu professionalisieren. Die Studieninhalte sind betont praxisorientiert konzipiert. Es wird eine Vielzahl von Modellen und Konzepten der Vermittlung Populärer Musik gelehrt. Darüber hinaus werden die theoretischen Kenntnisse vermittelt, die den Educating Artist zielgruppen- und zielstellungsorientiert moderne Musikcoachings auf hohem Niveau realisieren lassen.

Die Erfahrungen der Popakademie Baden-Württemberg der letzten Jahre haben deutlich gemacht, dass es im Bereich der Populären Musik einen wachsenden Bedarf an authentischen Künstler­persönlichkeiten gibt, die ihre Kunst auch vermitteln können. Besonders durch die Veränderungen in der Bildungs­landschaft (z.B. Ganztages­schulen, Integrations- und Inklusionsthematik, Öffnung der Bildungs­einrichtungen für Externe, Schwerpunkt Kulturelle Bildung) haben sich neue Möglichkeiten für Künstler­persönlichkeiten mit pädagogischer Qualifikation entwickelt.

Die Studieninhalte sind darauf ausgerichtet, Künstler/-innen auszubilden, die zielgruppenorientiert Musikcoachings konzipieren und realisieren können. Diese Zielgruppen bilden einen Querschnitt unserer Gesellschaft: Kindergartenkinder, Grundschulkinder, Schüler und Schülerinnen weiterführender Schulen, Jugendliche jeden Alters, Kinder mit erhöhtem Förderbedarf, Erwachsene und Senioren. Als freischaffende Künstler/-innen werden diese Educating Artists in der Lage sein, unter verschiedensten Zielstellungen mit den unterschiedlichsten Institutionen zusammenzuarbeiten.

Obwohl der Educating Artist primär als freischaffende Person arbeitet, gibt es viele Beispiele dafür, dass Absolventinnen und Absolventen auch in Festanstellungen arbeiten, z.B. in Musikschulen, öffentlichen und privaten Regelschulen, Berufsschulen, der Stadtverwaltung oder in der kulturellen Jugendbildung.

Department Chief: Prof. Axel Schwarz. Weitere Dozierende.

Für den Producing/Composing Artist werden im Hauptfach Themen wie Songwriting, Produktion, Filmmusik, Texten und Arrangement angeboten. Die Erstellung eigener Kompositionen, Songs, Texte und Produktionen steht ganz klar im Vordergrund. Dabei wird die Rolle als Dienstleister für Bandprojekte und Musikproduktionen in allen Medien, in denen Musik zum Einsatz kommt, wie Sound Design, Film, Jingles oder Games, perfektioniert.

Departments

Producing
Bachelor-Absolventen und Absolventinnen mit Qualifikation im Bereich Musik oder Tontechnik erlernen das Handwerk der Musikproduktion und über die mitgebrachten Erfahrungen hinaus spezielle, seltener angewandte und im Alltag schwierig zu realisierende Techniken und Settings unter technisch hochwertigen Bedingungen praktisch zu handhaben. Dies geschieht weitgehend unter individuell abgestimmter Betreuung. Sie können erlerntes Wissen in Zusammenhängen erproben, die im Hinblick auf technische Ressourcen sowie musikalische, zeitliche und teamspezifische Gegebenheiten ebenso anspruchsvoll wie diversifiziert sind. Dies dient nicht zuletzt dem Finden individueller Arbeitsstile, -philosophien und Entfaltungs­gebieten. Gleichzeitig werden theoretische Hinter­gründe, generalisierte Grundprinzipien sowie besondere Phänomene des gesamten Fachbereichs auf wissenschaftliche Art erfasst, erforscht und hinterfragt und somit ein gesamt­musikalisches Verständnis erschlossen.

Bachelor-Absolventen und Absolventinnen aus tontechnischen Studiengängen wird sowohl die fachlich kompetente Erweiterung ihres Wissens als auch praxisbezogene Anbindung ihrer Fähigkeiten ermöglicht. Sie werden zudem in Kontakt mit unterschiedlichsten Arbeits- und Musikstilen gebracht. DJ- und EDM-Producer/-innen, Sänger/-innen, Instrumentalisten und Instrumentalistinnen mit Producing-Vorkenntnissen wird die Erweiterung ihres Könnens auf eine Vielzahl von Techniken und Methoden auf hohem Niveau angeboten. Songwriter/-innen, Komponisten und Komponistinnen, die ihre Fähigkeiten um die kompetente und vielseitige Audio-Produktion ihrer Kompositionen genregerecht und genreübergreifend erweitern müssen, bekommen das dafür notwendige Wissen und praktische Erfahrung.

Allen Studierenden wird die Möglichkeit geboten, umfassende Studioarbeit und die Popmusik-Produktions­situation in ihrer ganzen Bandbreite kennen zu lernen.

Inhalte im Einzelnen
Arrangement, Recording, Sounddesign, Groove- und Beatprogramming, Produktion eigener Projekte und individueller Aufgabenstellungen, Electronic Music Producing (EMP) und Remixing, Tontechnik mit Vertiefung in Bezug auf stilistische Gestaltung bzw. klangliche Moden und Strömungen, Analyse, Neue Technologien für Produktion und Distribution, Filmmusik in Produktion und Business, Arbeiten mit Surround-Tonformaten, Gamesmusic, Soundbranding und Werbung, Entwicklung individueller Tools und Arbeitsumgebungen, gruppendynamische Prozesse in der Recording-/­Produktionssituation, Psychologische Kompetenzen im Umgang mit der künstlerischen Produktionssituation, Techniken der künstlerischen Einflussnahme/­Gestaltung in studiobezogenen Kreativsituationen, Producertypologien, Umgang mit der menschlichen Stimme im Kontext Populärer Musik/­Vocal-Producing (vertieft), Vocal­arrangement und Satzgesang im Studio, Orchester­arrangement und Aufnahme im Studio, erweiterte Instrumentenkunde (Schwerpunkt ethnische und seltene Instrumente), Mixdown in verschiedenen Settings und Zusammenhängen, Mastering (vertieft), Durchführung von Produktionen/­Recording von bestehenden oder aufzubauenden Acts mit Betreuung durch Fachdozierende, Musikbusiness­praxis und -wissen speziell für Produzent/-innen, Songwriter/-innen, EM-Producer/-innen, DJs und DJanes, Musikbusiness im Bereich medialer Musik, Specials von und für Produzent/-innen.

Department Chief: Prof. Florian Sitzmann. Weitere Dozierende.
Musiktheorie und Komposition
Im Fachbereich Komposition steht die Vermittlung der handwerklichen und künstlerischen Fähigkeiten der Komposition und des Arrangements im Bereich der Popmusik an erster Stelle.

In diesem Studienfach geht es um die Grundlagen des Komponierens, das Erlernen verschiedener Herangehensweisen, das Erarbeiten eigener Konzepte und einer eigenen kompositorischen Sprache, das Simulieren von Auftragssituationen und das Beherrschen des Tonsatzes im Bezug auf mehrstimmige Arrangements für Streicher-, Bläser- oder Chorstimmen.

Daneben gibt es Einblicke in die Welt der Filmmusik, der Gamemusik und in den Bereich der Musik für Commercials. Im Einzel- oder Gruppenunterricht werden die individuellen kompositorischen Stärken gefördert und sowohl die Prozesse der Musikentstehung als auch die Ergebnisse optimiert. Zusätzliche Specials mit international anerkannten Songwriter/-innen, Filmkomponist/-innen und Arrangeur/-innen sorgen für eine breit aufgestellte Betreuung der Studierenden.

Department Chief: Prof. Alexander Paeffgen. Weitere Dozierende.

Zu jedem Masterprojekt ist im 4. Semester ein wissenschaftlicher Abschlussbericht zu erstellen oder ein in Absprache mit den Fachdozierenden zu wählendes Thema aus dem Bereich der Populären Musik wissenschaftlich zu behandeln. Der Einzel- und Gruppenunterricht zum gewählten Schwerpunkt wird im 3. und 4. Semester fortgeführt. Zum Abschluss des Studiums erfolgen am Ende des 4. Semesters die Präsentation des Masterprojekts und eine Einzelprüfung im gewählten Schwerpunkt.

Künstlertypen

Performing Artist
Handwerklich und technisch versiert, verfügen die Studierenden über eine stark ausgeprägte künstlerische Persönlichkeit. Das Spektrum reicht dabei von interdisziplinären Konzepten bis hin zur solistisch-konzertanten Darbietung und kann auch unter Berücksichtigung von experimentellen Verfahren erfolgen.

Die Entwicklung der eigenen Künstlerpersönlichkeit profitiert von der theoretischen Auseinandersetzung mit verschiedenen Kunstbereichen und Medientheorien. Ziel ist es, am Ende des Studiums ein multimediales Gesamtkonzept eigenständig oder im Team entwickeln und auf der Bühne umsetzen zu können.
Producing/Composing Artist
Zu den Kernkompetenzen zählen die Erfindung, Konzeptionierung und Umsetzung von musikalischen Werken. Diese Kompositionen sind in ihrem Wert sowohl als künstlerische Arbeiten als auch als anwendungsorientierte Produktionen zu betrachten. Die Bereitschaft sich sowohl Grenz­bereichen der Avantgarde und experimentellen Feldern von Musik zu widmen ist genauso ausgeprägt, wie kommerziell orientierte Auftrags­kompositionen von der Idee bis zur Produktion musikalisch umzusetzen.

Ein hohes Maß an klangästhetischem Bewusstsein und überdurchschnittliche kompositorische Fähigkeiten sind Voraussetzung für die individuellen und originellen Song-/ Kompositionsideen. Die Studierenden sehen sich als Klangregisseur/-innen, die ihr Wissen interdisziplinär vernetzen, etwa mit den Bereichen Sound Design, Psychoakustik, Klangästhetik, Multimedia und Medientheorie.
Educating Artist
Die Studierenden des Educating Artist verfügen über eine hohe musikalisch-technische Versiertheit sowie über Erfahrung in der Komposition und Produktion von Musik. Musik kann mit Hilfe eines zeitgemäßen Instrumentariums erstellt werden, etwa Komposition am Computer. Die Studierenden sind in der Lage, multimediale Verfahren in ihre Arbeit als Musikvermittler/-innen zu integrieren. Die dazu notwendigen methodisch-didaktischen Fähigkeiten sind im Studium zu entwickeln und theoretisch zu unterbauen.

Ausgeprägte Repertoirekenntnisse im Bereich der Populären Musik sind Voraussetzung. Das erlernte methodisch-didaktische Wissen soll in der Praxis in neuen Aufgabenfeldern, wie z.B. bei Kindern mit erhöhtem Förderbedarf oder bei Bandprojekten in Ganztagesschulen, angewendet werden. Dabei sollen auch neue Konzepte und Vermittlungsformen entwickelt, wissenschaftlich begründet, eigenständig durchgeführt und evaluiert werden.

top