Popakademie

Crash!Boom! Bang!

Crash!Boom! Bang!

Events / World Drum Festival

World Drum Festival

The Popakademie’s drummers and percussionists are world renowned. In 2017, four of our instructors were nominated to the annual Readers Poll in »Modern Drummer«, the world’s most influential magazine for drummers. Against this backdrop, the Popakademie hosts the World Drum Festival every November - in 2019 for the fifth time.

The festival serves as a meeting point for drummers and percussionists from different cultures to make music, exchange ideas and network. Workshops, master classes, panels and concerts allow world-class soloists the chance to present themselves to an interested audience. They highlight the current state of affairs in the global jazz and pop music scene.

Past participants include Jost Nickel, Benny Greb, Claus Hessler, Annika Nilles, Rhani Krija, Pete Lockett, Firas Hassan, Domenico Russo Antunez, Pape Samory Seck, Florian Alexandru-Zorn, Lui Ludwig, Trilok Gurtu, Michael Küttner, José Cortijo, Moritz Müller, Mamadou Diabate and many more.

The festival takes place in cooperation with the Cultural Office of the City of Mannheim and the drummers’ association Percussion Creativ.

top

Popakademie

Crash!Boom! Bang!

Crash!Boom! Bang!

Events / World Drum Festival

World Drum Festival

Die Drummer/-innen und Perkussionisten/-innen der Popakademie genießen Weltruf. Im Jahr 2017 waren im wichtigsten Schlagzeugermagazin weltweit, dem »Modern Drummer«, vier Dozierende der Popakademie im jährlichen Readers Poll nominiert. Vor diesem Hintergrund richtet die Popakademie jährlich im November das World Drum Festival aus, im Jahr 2019 bereits zum fünften Mal.

Hier treffen sich Schlagzeuger/-innen und Perkussionisten/-innen aus verschiedenen Weltkulturen, um Musik zu machen, sich auszutauschen und zu Netzwerken. In einer Mischung aus Workshops, Masterclasses, Panels und Konzerten stellen sich die Weltklasse-Solisten/-innen einem interessierten Fachpublikum vor. Sie zeigen, was derzeit Stand der Dinge in der weltweiten Jazz- und Popmusikszene ist.

Logo Percussion Creativ e.V.

Logo Stadt Mannheim

Mit dabei waren in den letzten Jahren: Jost Nickel, Benny Greb, Claus Hessler, Annika Nilles, Rhani Krija, Pete Lockett, Firas Hassan, Domenico Russo Antunez, Pape Samory Seck, Florian Alexandru-Zorn, Lui Ludwig, Trilok Gurtu, Michael Küttner, José Cortijo, Moritz Müller, Mamadou Diabate und viele andere.

Das Festival findet in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kulturamt der Stadt Mannheim und dem europäischen Schlagzeuger­verband Percussion Creativ statt.

top