Popakademie
Academics / Music studies

Study Popular Music / World Music

That's why Popakademie


  • Most prestigious academic studies in Germany in the field of popular music
  • Focus on individual artistic development
  • Small classes
  • Pop music in connection with music business topics
  • Large international partner network
  • Well-known national and international lecturers
  • Very good individual support for students within the academy
  • Location in the creative hotspot Jungbusch of the university city Mannheim
  • Accredited by the quality assurance institute ACQUIN
  • No tuition fees (because it is an institution of the state of Baden-Württemberg)
Making music is your life? Then make your vocation your profession and study music at the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg based in Mannheim. Songwriting, drums, vocals, guitar, producing, bass or keyboard - this is the right place for you as an artist. With the help of our large network of national and international lecturers we will accompany you on the way to your individual artistic personality.

In its special form, the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg is unique in Germany. It is the only state institution of higher education in Germany that offers courses specifically in the field of popular music. And it has set itself the task of promoting the individual talents of its students - especially artistically, but also entrepreneurially. What counts is a practice-oriented education at an academic level.

The bachelor's programme Pop Music Design focuses on the individual artistic profile of the musicians. The focus is on vocals, electric bass, electric guitar, drums, keyboard, composition/songwriting and production/DJ producing.

The master's degree course Popular Music builds on this. In the Performing Artist and Producing/Composing Artist majors, practical musical experience is deepened by working on one's own compositions, texts, songs and productions. The focus Educating Artist imparts core competences for working in the field of music education, e.g. in schools or youth centres.

The bachelor's programme World Music offers an artistic study with the instrumental majors bağlama, arabic and turkish oud, kanun, singing, Mediterranean/ Middle Eastern/ Indian/ West African percussion, Indian and West African music.

Learn more about

Bachelor of Arts Pop Music Design
Bachelor of Arts World Music
Master of Arts Popular Music

What do the alumni do?


Alice Merton, Joris, Mine, Anika Nilles and Crada are just a few examples of alumni of the Popakademie who have made the leap onto the big stages - as solo artists or musicians of well-known bands. In songwriting or producing, our alumni participate behind the scenes in hits and successful compositions and productions. Numerous alumni also work as singing or instrumental teachers or lead educational projects in schools or youth centres.

top

Popakademie
Studium / Künstlerische Studiengänge

Populäre Musik / Weltmusik studieren

Darum Popakademie


  • Renommierte akademische Ausbildung in Deutschland für den Bereich Populäre Musik
  • Fokus auf individueller künstlerischen Entwicklung
  • Kleine Jahrgangsgrößen
  • Popmusik in Verbindung mit musikwirtschaftlichen Themen
  • Großes internationales Partnernetzwerk
  • Namhafte nationale und internationale Dozierende
  • Sehr gute individuelle Betreuung der Studierenden innerhalb der Akademie
  • Standort im kreativen Szeneviertel Jungbusch der Universitätsstadt Mannheim
  • Akkreditiert durch das Qualitätssicherungsinstitut ACQUIN
  • Keine Studiengebühren (da Einrichtung des Landes Baden-Württemberg)
Musik machen ist dein Leben? Dann mach deine Berufung zum Beruf und studiere Musik an der Popakademie Baden-Württemberg mit Sitz in Mannheim. Songwriting, Drums, Gesang, Gitarre, Producing, Bass oder Keyboard - hier bist du als Künstler oder Künstlerin genau richtig. Mit Hilfe unseres großen Netzwerks an nationalen und internationalen Dozierenden begleiten wir dich auf dem Weg zu deiner individuellen Künstlerpersönlichkeit.

In ihrer speziellen Form ist die Popakademie Baden-Württemberg einzigartig in Deutschland. Sie ist national die einzige staatliche Hochschuleinrichtung, die ihr Studienangebot speziell auf den Bereich der Populären Musik ausrichtet. Und es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, das individuelle Talent der Studierenden zu fördern - vor allem in künstlerischer, aber ebenso in unternehmerischer Hinsicht. Was zählt, ist eine praxisnahe Ausbildung auf akademischem Niveau.

Der Bachelor-Studiengang Popmusikdesign stellt das individuelle künstlerische Profil der Musiker und Musikerinnen in den Mittelpunkt. Die Schwerpunkte sind Gesang, E-Bass, E-Gitarre, Drums, Keyboard, Komposition/ Songwriting und Producing/ DJ-Producing.

Der Master-Studiengang Popular Music baut darauf auf. In den Schwerpunkten Performing Artist und Producing/ Composing Artist wird durch die Arbeit an eigenen Kompositionen, Texten, Songs und Produktionen die praktische musikalische Erfahrung vertieft. Der Schwerpunkt Educating Artist vermittelt Kernkompetenzen für die Arbeit im musikpädagogischen Bereich, z.B. an Schulen oder in Jugendzentren.

Der Bachelor-Studiengang Weltmusik bietet ein künstlerisches Studium mit den instrumentalen Schwerpunkten Bağlama, arabische und türkische Oud, Kanun, Gesang, Mediterranean/ Middle Eastern/ Indian/ West African Percussion, Indischer sowie Westafrikanischer Musik.

Informiere dich jetzt!

Bachelor of Arts Popmusikdesign
Bachelor of Arts Weltmusik
Master of Arts Popular Music

Gitarrensolo von zwei Studierenden

Was machen die Alumni?


Alice Merton, Joris, Mine, Anika Nilles und Crada sind nur einige Beispiele für Alumni der Popakademie, die den Sprung auf die großen Bühnen geschafft haben - als Solokünstler und Solokünstlerinnen oder Musiker und Musikerinnen namhafter Bands. Im Songwriting oder Producing beteiligen sich unsere Alumni hinter den Kulissen an Hits und erfolgreichen Kompositionen und Produktionen. Zahlreiche Alumni arbeiten zudem als Gesangslehrer oder Instrumentallehrer oder leiten pädagogische Projekte an Schulen oder in Jugendzentren.

top