Popakademie

See the
creative industry

as a whole

See the
creative industry

as a whole

Academics / M.A. Music and Creative Industries / Facts
Creative Industries (and more)
  • Music
  • Film
  • Publishing
  • Software and Video Games
  • Advertising
  • Press and Media

Music and Creative Industries

Master of Arts

Creativity. Make it your business!

Today, pop culture is no longer just a part of the music industry; it plays a central role in many sectors of the creative industries. Because of this, many areas of creative industries are increasingly converging, creating challenges that the Pop Academy meets in a unique way with the accredited master's programme Music and Creative Industries, or MCI for short.

The master's programme at the Pop Academy is open to bachelor’s degree holders from the fields of cultural, music, economic, social, media and communication sciences, who have already gained practical work experience. In addition to essential industry knowledge, management skills and analytical and methodological skills, the master candidates deepen this practical knowledge in the third semester through real projects within the framework provided by the Project Factory.

Degree: Master of Arts
Type of programme: consecutive
Duration: 4 semesters, 120 ECTS
Instruction language: German (at least level C1 required)
Structure of programme: full-time
Application deadline: 15 June
Entrance exam: July 15th to 18th 2019
Start: winter semester
Students admitted: 20
Tuition fees: none
Except for international students and students studying for a second degree.

The master’s programme Music and Creative Industries prepares one for a professional career in a leadership role in the music and creative industries. On the one hand, the master’s programme deepens both professional and industry-specific knowledge in the music business, while on the other hand it expands the students’ horizon at the edges of the creative industries.

The following professional fields are possible:
  • Music business: artist management, recording industry and music distribution, publishing and media, concerts and events, labels, management, booking and promotion agencies, digital media, social media, mobile media and educational institutions
  • Submarkets of the creative industries with a strong musical relevance: book market, art market, film industry, broadcasting industry, press, advertising, software/games industry
  • Cities and municipalities: cluster manager for creative industries, competence area manager for creative industries

top

Popakademie

Kreativ­wirtschaft

als Ganzes betrachten

Kreativ­wirtschaft

als Ganzes betrachten

Studium / Music & Creative Industries M.A. / Facts
Creative Industries (u.a.)
  • Musikwirtschaft
  • Filmwirtschaft
  • Buchmarkt
  • Software-/Games-Industrie
  • Werbemarkt
  • Pressemarkt

Music and Creative Industries M.A.

Musik trifft auf Kreativität

Popkultur ist heute nicht mehr nur Bestandteil der Musikbranche, sie spielt in zahlreichen Branchen der Kreativwirtschaft eine zentrale Rolle. Dabei streben die Bereiche der Kreativwirtschaft immer stärker aufeinander zu, und es ergeben sich Herausforderungen, denen die Popakademie mit dem akkreditierten Masterstudium Music and Creative Industries, kurz: MCI, auf einzigartige Weise begegnet.

Das Masterstudium an der Popakademie steht Bachelor-Absolventen aus den Bereichen der Kultur-, Musik-, Wirtschafts-, Sozial- sowie Medien- und Kommunikationswissenschaften offen, die bereits über erste berufspraktische Erfahrungen verfügen. Neben essentiellen Branchenkenntnissen, Management-Skills sowie analytischen und methodischen Fähigkeiten werden diese praktischen Kenntnisse im dritten Semester durch reale Projekte im Rahmen der Projektwerkstatt von den Master-Anwärtern vertieft.

Abschluss: Master of Arts
Art des Studiengangs: konsekutiv
Studiendauer: 4 Semester, 120 ECTS
Studienform: Vollzeit, Präsenzstudium
Bewerbungsschluss: 15. Juni
Aufnahmeprüfung: 15.-18. Juli 2019
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Studienplätze: 20
Studiengebühr: keine
Für internationale Studierende und für ein Zweitstudium erheben die baden-württembergischen Hochschulen seit dem Wintersemester 2017/18 Studiengebühren.

Der Masterstudiengang Music and Creative Industries bereitet auf eine berufliche Tätigkeit in leitender Funktion in der Musik- und Kreativwirtschaft vor. Das Studium vertieft zum einen die Fach- und Branchenkenntnisse im Musikbusiness, zum anderen erweitert es den Wissenshorizont um den Bereich der Kreativwirtschaft.

Folgende Berufsfelder kommen in Betracht:
  • Musikwirtschaft: Künstlermanagement, Tonträgerindustrie und Musikvertrieb, Verlag und Medien, Konzerte und Events, Labels, Management-, Booking- und Promotionagenturen, Digitale Medien, Social Media, Mobile Media, Bildungseinrichtungen
  • Teilmärkte der Kreativwirtschaft mit ausgeprägtem Musikbezug: Buchmarkt, Kunstmarkt, Filmwirtschaft, Rundfunkwirtschaft, Pressemarkt, Werbemarkt, Software/Games-Industrie
  • Städte und Kommunen: Cluster Manager Kreativwirtschaft, Kompetenzfeldmanager Kreativwirtschaft

top