Popakademie
Academics / Study at the Popakademie / Smix.Lab

SMIX.LAB

Digitalisation poses one of the biggest challenges of the 21st century for the music and creative industries. For over a decade, established structures and processes of the music and media industry have been undergoing a process of transformation and repositioning toward the conditions of a digitally connected market.

As an interface between the online world and the traditional music industry, Smix.Lab, founded in 2008, sees itself as a competence centre for digital music business. It serves the imparting of digital knowledge and future-oriented research, it investigates modern possibilities of music marketing, and it wants to help shape and initiate. The research lab is primarily available to the students of the Popakademie, but is also a potential starting point for all those working in the music industry. Its goal is to foster the qualifications and practical skills necessary to develop viable, sustainable solution models for the music industry.

Smix.Lab Divisions

Courses of study
One of the aims of the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg is to continuously develop a forward-looking curriculum - with Smix.Lab playing a major role in terms of digital trends and advances in the music industry. Students can specialize in Digital Innovation Management during their main course of study. The courses in the Smix.Lab teach the necessary technical infrastructure and its contemporary use, also in the field of music marketing. At Smix.Lab, students are supervised and supported in the preparation and writing of research papers as well as bachelor and master theses with a future-oriented thematic focus.
Projects
In their main course of study, students from the Music Business and the Music and Creative Industries degree programmes carry out one practical and one research project per semester as part of the project workshop. Smix.Lab acts as a partner in the implementation phase with explicitly forward-looking topics and acquires suitable partner companies and institutions that could be considered clients or project partners.
Future Music Camp
Smix.Lab organises an annual, nationally recognised conference for digital music and creative industries called Future Music Camp.


Popakademie Digital

Through PopakademieDigital, the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg publishes whitepapers on topics surrounding digital music marketing - with the goal of presenting internet and digital music trends in a simple, understandable and practicable way.

PopakademieDigital #4: The digitised festival of the future
The music festival market is booming. In Germany, about 1600 festivals are carried out every year. Because of the market oversaturation, it is becoming more and more difficult for promoters to stand out of the crowd. In the fourth edition of our whitepaper series, four of our students, among others, write about AR/VR technologies, voice assistants, blockchain and smart data, all with respect to the music festival market.

Previously Published:

PopakademieDigital #1
The first edition gives an initial overview of successful German musicians on Instagram and their performance on the platform: who is active, and in which form?

PopakademieDigital #2
In the second edition, »Musicians on Instagram – an Update« Steffen Geldner, Project Manager for Digital Innovation at the Popakademie, brings successful German musicians on Instagram under focus again and analyses their interactions on the platform. The goal of the study is to describe the status quo, identify key figures and compare these with data from 2015: how much has the interaction rate grown? How many new followers did each profile gain? Which German musicians are the most successful on Instagram? A status report and the changes from the previous year constitute the second whitepaper.

PopakademieDigital #3
In the music industry, blockchain technology has been one of the most prominent buzzwords of the past few years. The proponents of the technology claim that it could transform traditional structures in a fundamental way and solve many of the music industry’s problems: these include the “metadata disaster” and the lack of a global rights database, contract intransparency (especially in the context of complex pricing models in the digital age), as well as the authors’ and artists’ loss of control over their rights.
In the third edition of the whitepaper series with the title "Blockchain-Technology - Potential for Implementation in the Music Industry", author Vanessa Fliegauf looks at this complex issue, creating a simple means of engagement. Fliegauf not only addresses the above-mentioned problems but also shows how the blockchain works and its implementation potential for the music industry.

top

Popakademie

Social Music, Innovation and

EXperience Laboratory

Social Music, Innovation and

EXperience Laboratory

Studium / Studieren an der Popakademie / Smix.Lab

SMIX.LAB

Für die Musik- und Kreativwirtschaft ist die Digitalisierung eine der größten Herausforderungen im 21. Jahrhundert. Etablierte Strukturen und Prozesse der Musik- und Medienindustrie befinden sich seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt in einem Prozess der Transformation und der Neuausrichtung an die Gegebenheiten eines digital vernetzten Marktes.

Als Schnittstelle zwischen Online-Welt und traditioneller Musikindustrie versteht sich das 2008 gegründete Smix.Lab als Kompetenzzentrum für Digitales Musikbusiness. Es dient der Vermittlung von digitalem Wissen, der zukunftsorientierten Forschung, untersucht moderne Möglichkeiten der Musikvermarktung, möchte mitgestalten und initiieren. Das Forschungslabor steht in erster Linie den Studierenden der Popakademie zur Verfügung, ist aber potenziell auch allen in der Musikwirtschaft Tätigen ein Anlaufpunkt. Ziel ist es, notwendige Qualifikation und praktische Handlungskompetenz aufzubauen, um tragfähige, zukunftsfähige Lösungsmodelle für die Musikwirtschaft zu entwickeln.

Logo Future Music Camp

Teilbereiche des Smix.Lab

Studium
Ein Ziel der Popakademie Baden-Württemberg ist es, das zukunftsorientierte Studienangebot ständig weiterzuentwickeln – dabei spielt das Smix.Lab im Hinblick auf digitale Trends und Fortschritte im Musikbusiness eine tragende Rolle. Studierende können sich im Hauptstudium auf den Bereich Digital Innovation Management spezialisieren. Die Lehrveranstaltungen im Smix.Lab vermitteln die dazu notwendige technische Infrastruktur und deren zeitgemäßen Einsatz auch im Bereich der Musikvermarktung. Im Smix.Lab werden Studierende beim Vorbereiten und Verfassen von Studien-, Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten mit zukunftsorientierten Themenfokus betreut und unterstützt.
Projekte
Im Hauptstudium führen die Studierenden der beiden Studiengänge Musik­business und Music and Creative Industries im Rahmen der Projekt­werkstatt pro Semester je ein Praxis- und Forschungsprojekt durch. Das Smix.Lab agiert dabei als Partner bei der Durchführung von Projekten mit explizit zukunftsweisenden Themen und akquiriert dafür geeignete Partnerunternehmen und -einrichtungen, die als Auftraggeber oder Projektpartner in Frage kommen.
Future Music Camp
Mit dem Future Music Camp veranstaltet das Smix.Lab einmal jährlich ein eigenes, national etabliertes Konferenzformat für die digitale Musik- und Kreativ­wirtschaft.


Popakademie Digital

Mit PopakademieDigital veröffentlicht die Popakademie Baden-Württemberg Whitepapers zu Themen rund um die digitale Musikvermarktung. Darin werden Trends aus dem Internet und der digitalen Musikwirtschaft einfach, verständlich und praxisnah dargestellt.

PopakademieDigital #4: Das digitalisierte Festival der Zukunft
Der Festivalmarkt boomt. In Deutschland nehmen rund 1600 Festivals und Festspiele im Eventkalender Platz. Durch die Marktübersättigung wird es für Festivals immer schwieriger, sich von der Masse abzuheben und das Überangebot führt zu einer natürlichen Auslese. Digitale Innovationen spielen in der Live-Industrie eine große Rolle und bieten Festival­veranstaltern die Möglichkeit, Alleinstellungs­merkmale zu schaffen. Aufgrund neuer Technologien wie künstlicher Intelligenz oder Augmented und Virtual Reality entstehen für Festival­organisatoren neue Potenziale und Chancen.
In der vierten Ausgabe der Whitepaper-Reihe der Popakademie Baden-Württemberg berichten die studentischen Autoren u.a. über die Grund­voraussetzungen, um Innovationen innerhalb der Produktion zu realisieren, die Umsetzung von AR/VR-Technologien im Marketingprozess und auf dem Festival, den Einsatz von Sprachassistenten, den Chancen der Blockchain und der Relevanz von Smart Data.

Bisher erschienen:

PopakademieDigital #1 gibt einen ersten Überblick über erfolgreiche deutsche Musiker bei Instagram und deren Performance auf der Plattform: Wer ist überhaupt aktiv und wenn ja, in welcher Form?

PopakademieDigital #2
In der zweiten Ausgabe »Musiker bei Instagram – Ein Update« nimmt Steffen Geldner, Projektmanager Digital Innovation der Popakademie, erneut erfolgreiche deutsche Musiker beim Online-Dienst Instagram unter die Lupe und analysiert deren Interaktionen auf der Plattform. Ziel der Studie ist es, einen Status Quo zu beschreiben, Kennzahlen zu identifizieren und diese mit den Daten aus 2015 zu vergleichen: Wie hoch ist mittlerweile die Interaktionsrate? Wie viele neue Follower konnten die Profile gewinnen? Welche deutschen Musiker sind bei Instagram derzeit am erfolgreichsten? Ein Statusbericht und die Veränderungen zum Vorjahr sind der Inhalt dieses zweiten Whitepapers.

PopakademieDigital #3
In der Musikbranche ist die Blockchain-Technologie eines der prominentesten Buzzwords der letzten Jahre. Die Befürworter der Technologie behaupten, sie könne traditionelle Strukturen grundlegend verändern und viele Probleme der Musikindustrie lösen. Unter diese Probleme fallen das „Metadaten-Desaster“ und das Fehlen einer globalen Rechtedatenbank, die Intransparenz von Verträgen, vor allem im Kontext komplexer und aufwendiger Abrechnungs­modelle im digitalen Zeitalter, sowie der Kontrollverlust von Urhebern und ausübenden Künstlern hinsichtlich ihrer Rechte.
In der dritten Ausgabe der Whitepaper-Reihe mit dem Titel "Die Blockchain-Technologie - Implementierungspotentiale für die Musikindustrie" befasst sich Autorin Vanessa Fliegauf mit der komplexen Thematik und stellt dabei einen einfachen Zugang her. Fliegauf geht nicht nur auf die obenstehenden Probleme ein, sondern zeigt auch, wie die Blockchain grundsätzlich funktioniert und welche Implementierungs­potenziale die Technologie für die Musikindustrie darstellen könnte.

top