Popakademie
Get involved / Pop & education

Music Education


Supporting pop music education has been an important part of the Popakademie’s mission statement since its founding. Alongside its traditional degree programmes, the Popakademie offers short- and long-term offerings for children, youth and adults in the areas of cultural education and language development.

The steadily increasing demand from educational and extracurricular institutions inspired the Popakademie to found the department of Popular Music Education. The core of its work is actively making music with all age groups: children, youth, adults and seniors - regionally, nationally and in the European context.

As a pioneer in this field, the Popakademie is uniquely situated to offer one-of-a-kind projects in (continuing) education, as well as innovative projects, co-operations and events.

The Popakademie places great emphasis on working with local actors from Mannheim and its surroundings. In collaboration with youth centres, schools and universities from nearby cities, pop music projects are realised in the areas of child, youth and adult education. In this capacity, students and graduates of the Popakademie can impart their professional knowledge on others.

One of the current projects is "Generation Pop: YOU - Young and old united". In the video there is a little insight:

Generation POP
"Young and Old United" is the motto of the intergenerational project "Generation POP: YOU - Young and Old United". Students of the Johannes-Kepler-Gemeinschaftsschule in Mannheim rehearse their own songs once a week together with the senior band (F)Altenrock from Mannheim as part of a working group. The songs are written by the members of the unusual band themselves. They address all possible areas of their respective lives.

The project aims to use music to promote understanding between young and old and to sensitise them to each other's living conditions. In group work all participants create something new with which both generations can identify. Generation POP thus makes a valuable contribution to generational understanding. This is also effectively presented to the public through numerous concerts. For example, they performed at the district festival GO WEST in the Lutherkirche in Neckarstadt-West and on the cultural stage of the neighbourhood festival "Der Busch spielt" in Jungbusch.
From Picture to Text, from Text to Song
As part of the cultural agent programme, pupils from four classes in grade 8 from the Tulla Realschule were able to become active in pop music and write their own lyrics, get to know pop music instruments and try out modern software for music production. The foundation of the creative work, and thus the design of the lyrics, was the interpretation of paintings by the artist Edward Hopper. The participants were to interpret their thoughts and feelings about these works of art and translate them into lyrics in the creative process.
The four classes were divided into two groups. While one group dedicated themselves to writing and singing song lyrics, the other laid the musical foundation as a band or producer. Under the guidance of lecturers from the Popakademie, three songs were created, rehearsed and presented live at the end of the project.

Background
Cultural Agents for Creative Schools Baden-Württemberg is a Landesvereinigung Kulturelle Jugendbildung Baden-Württemberg eV prroject funded by the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports of Baden-Württemberg, MUTIK gGmbH, the Federal Cultural Foundation and the Stiftung Mercator as well as the cities of Baden Baden, Freiburg, Göppingen, Heidenheim, Heilbronn, Constance, Mannheim, Pforzheim, Schwäbisch Gmünd and Ulm.
InterSchool
During the 2017/18 school year, the Popakademie realized the project InterSchool - Integration, Intercultural Music and School.

At five primary schools in Mannheim, pupils in 3rd and 4th grade were approached in the form of clubs and challenged to become musically active. As part of the integration project, graduates of the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg, in cooperation with professional guidance from teachers, implemented the measures. To strengthen professionalism within the schools, further training on the subject of practice-oriented songwriting was also offered at the Popakademie for the participating teachers.

On 22 June 2018, the final concert of the project took place at the Mannheim Technoseum.

The aim of the project was to strengthen young students in the city of Mannheim with pop and world music influences through a musical programme. The playful study of the German language through music served as a motivating factor.

The participating elementary schools and their sponsoring clubs were:
  • Neckarschule – Lions Club Mannheim
  • Bertha-Hirsch-Schule – Lions Club Mannheim Rhein-Neckar
  • Friedrich-Ebert-Schule – Lions Club Mannheim Rosengarten
  • Vogelstangschule – Lions Club Mannheim Quadrate
  • Humboldt-Grundschule – Lions Club Mannheim Schloss

The project was realized through the financial support of the Lions Clubs e.V. Humanitarian Relief Organization as part of the 100th Anniversary of the Lions Club International.
INTERMUSIK
No one finds it easy to leave home. But the migrant people who come to Germany with their abilities and talents are an enrichment for society and make an intercultural exchange possible. They create the basis for encounters and dialogue.

By financing the Art Innovation Fund of the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts of the State of Baden-Württemberg and cooperating with the Department of Labour and Social Affairs of the City of Mannheim, the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg was able to realise the INTERMUSIK project.

The project offered fugitives in the LEA - Landeserstaufnahmeeinrichtung, Industriestraße/ Pyramidenstraße Mannheim a space to merge the music of their homeland with the local music culture. Musical abilities were promoted and competences were discovered which were further developed on the basis of the culture of origin.

The residents of the LEA were able to take part in weekly music workshops and make music. The workshops were free of charge and open to interested people aged 18 and over. The professional guidance of the workshops was provided by alumni and students of the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg.
(F)Altenrock
In the multi-generation pop music pilot project "Komponiere Deinen Neckarsong", around 30 senior citizens, with the help of students from the Popakademie, expressed their love for Mannheim in the specially written and composed song Neckarsong and successfully presented it to audiences on stage at the Popakademie. The subsequent financial donation through the Fuchs-Petrolub-Förderpreis enabled the project to be continued over a period of one year in a continuous setting.

At the multi-generation home in Mannheim, seniors work together with students of the Popakademie to develop their own pop music lyrics and compositions and repeatedly work towards a concert setting. The participants over the age of 60 determine the underlying topics themselves. In their texts, they express the inner voice of a generation and show their view of life.

Shortly after the start of the project in 2012, the participants founded the band (F)Altenrock. In addition to singing as a pop choir, the group also plays several instruments. Several public appearances have already been made through the regular weekly rehearsals, for example at the New Year's Reception of the City of Mannheim in January 2014. In the near future, further appearances and studio work are planned at the Popakademie.

The integration of music in one's private life promotes the ability to perceive and express, creativity, social behaviour and the ability to concentrate. Thus, pop music is a suitable instrument for seniors to help keep themselves physically and mentally fit. As part of the workshops, students and senior citizens expand their mutual experience and deepen their understanding of each other's needs. The workshops thus make a valuable contribution to intergenerational understanding.

In addition, employees of the multi-generation home and social health professionals participate in qualification measures in the field of cultural education. These measures are carried out by master students of the Department of Popular Music.

The teaching has been funded since 2014 by the Innovation Fund Art of the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts MWK.
Pupil’s Workshop
Are you interested in a weekend or vacation workshop in your school, community or organisation?

In addition to in-house workshops and continuing education offerings, the Popakademie offers the chance to carry out projects and workshops for pupils from the 5th grade on. During half- or full-day coaching sessions, pupils will write their own song lyrics with our coaches, play in a bad or create their own interpretations of favourite pop songs. More musical contents can be adapted to the individual needs of the group.

These workshops allow children and youth to approach the basics of rhythm through body percussion. They can try out instruments like the electric guitar, electric bass, drums or keyboard, work on a self-written song as part of a band or choir, and perform it.

We will advise you regarding organisation, planning and conception of your workshop.

In addition these projects, we also offer private coaching sessions and workshops in pop music education and cultural education on a regular basis. Our continuing education offerings in pop music education are aimed at teachers, pedagogy experts and company employees. The goal of these coaching sessions are to understand music as an integral part of culture and to establish this in daily interactions with schools and early childhood education centres. The creative approach to music introduces participants to new points of view of daily tasks and allows them to develop new methods for problem solving and communication in a playful way.

Teacher Training
Pop music is an important component of modern, cultural education - the integration of music during the school day promotes abilities of perception and expression, creativity, language development, social behaviour, teamwork, and concentration. The foundations for future academic and professional success are already being laid in childhood. The Popakademie offers half- or full-day workshops for teachers and educators.

The following modules can be chosen within the coaching sessions and workshops. The choice of topic, for example Songwriting, will be adapted to the participant group and their professional backgrounds.
  • Body percussion/ Warm-up
  • Band coaching
  • Songwriting/ Singing
  • Singalong/ A-cappella
  • Recording songs
Team-building Workshop
Team building builds trust, increases personal competence and opens up new paths of communication in a playful way. Music reinforces the feeling of belonging, promotes reciprocal listening and helps people to value different qualities.

Experience how making music together strengthens your team and supports creative thinking and action. The Popakademie is your competent partner for musical workshops and coaching sessions with team-building character.

Please contact Danijela Albrecht or Tobias Reiter for more information or a price quotation.

top

Popakademie
Dabei sein / Pop & Pädagogik

Musik vermitteln


Die Förderung von Popmusikpädagogik ist seit Gründung der Popakademie ein wesentlicher Bestandteil ihres Bildungsprofils. Neben dem reinen Studienbetrieb werden sowohl zeitlich begrenzte als auch dauerhafte Angebote für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene im Bereich kulturelle Bildung und Sprachförderung realisiert.

Die stetig ansteigenden Anfragen schulischer und außerschulischer Bildungs­einrichtungen ermutigte die Popakademie die Abteilung Vermittlung Populäre Musik zu gründen. Kern der Arbeit ist das aktive Musikmachen mit allen Altersgruppen: Kindern, Jugendlichen, Erwachsenen und Senioren - regional, national, bundesweit und im europäischen Kontext.

Ihre Vorreiterrolle und die damit einhergehende Alleinstellung ermöglichen einzigartige Projekte im Bereich der Fort- und Weiterbildung und des Studiums, aber auch in Bezug auf innovative Projekte, Kooperationen und Veranstaltungen.

Auf die Einbindung lokaler Akteure aus Mannheim und der Metropolregion wird ein großer Wert gelegt. In Zusammenarbeit mit Jugendzentren, Schulen und den Universitäten der umliegenden Städte werden Popmusik-Projekte im Bereich der Kinder-, Jugend- und Erwachsenenbildung realisiert. Dabei vermitteln Studierende und Absolventen der Popakademie ihr professionelles Wissen.

Vom Bild zum Text, vom Text zum Song
Im Rahmen des Kulturagenten-Programms konnten Schülerinnen und Schüler der Tulla-Realschule aus vier Klassen der Klassenstufe 8 pop­musikalisch aktiv werden und eigene Songtexte schreiben, Popmusik-Instrumente kennen lernen und moderne Software der Musik­produktion ausprobieren. Der Grundstein der kreativen Arbeit und damit der Ausgestaltung der Songtexte, war die Interpretation von Gemälden des Künstlers Edward Hopper. Dabei sollten die Teilnehmer ihre Gedanken und Gefühle zu diesen Kunstwerken interpretieren und im kreativen Prozess in Songtexte umsetzen.

Dabei wurden die vier Klassen jeweils in zwei Gruppen geteilt. Während die eine Gruppe sich dem Schreiben und Singen von Songtexten widmete, legte die andere als Band oder Produzenten das musikalische Fundament. Unter Anleitung von Dozierenden der Popakademie wurden in drei Tagen eigene Songs geschaffen, einstudiert und am Ende des Projektes live in der Schule präsentiert.

Hintergrund
Kulturagenten für kreative Schulen Baden-Württemberg ist ein Projekt der Landesvereinigung Kulturelle Jugend­bildung Baden-Württemberg e.V., gefördert durch das Ministerium für Kultus, Jugend und Sport Baden-Württemberg, die MUTIK gGmbH sowie die Kulturstiftung des Bundes und die Stiftung Mercator sowie die Städte Baden-Baden, Freiburg, Göppingen, Heidenheim, Heilbronn, Konstanz, Mannheim, Pforzheim, Schwäbisch Gmünd und Ulm.
InterSchool
Im Schuljahr 2017/18 konnte die Popakademie das Projekt InterSchool - Integration, Interkulturelle Musik und Schule realisieren.

An fünf Mannheimer Grundschulen wurden die Schülerinnen und Schüler der 3. und 4. Klassenstufen in Form von AG’s angesprochen musikalisch aktiv zu werden. Im Rahmen des Integrationsprojektes haben Absolventen und Absolventinnen der Popakademie Baden-Württemberg in Zusammenarbeit mit den Fachlehrern die Maßnahmen umgesetzt. Zur fachlichen Stärkung der Schulen wurde dazu ebenfalls eine Fortbildung zum Thema Praxisorientiertes Songwriting für die teilnehmenden Fachlehrer in der Popakademie angeboten.

Am 22. Juni 2018 fand im Mannheimer Technoseum das Abschlusskonzert des Projektes statt.

Ziel des Projektes war es, junge Schülerinnen und Schüler im Stadt­gebiet Mannheim über musikalische Angebote mit Pop- und Weltmusikeinflüssen zu stärken. Die spielerische Beschäftigung mit deutscher Sprache über Musik konnte dabei als motivierender Faktor dienen.

Die beteiligten Grundschulen und ihre Patenclubs waren:
  • Neckarschule – Lions Club Mannheim
  • Bertha-Hirsch-Schule – Lions Club Mannheim Rhein-Neckar
  • Friedrich-Ebert-Schule – Lions Club Mannheim Rosengarten
  • Vogelstangschule – Lions Club Mannheim Quadrate
  • Humboldt-Grundschule – Lions Club Mannheim Schloss

Das Projekt konnte mithilfe der finanziellen Unterstützung des Hilfswerks der Mannheimer Lions-Clubs e.V. im Rahmen des Jubiläums 100 Jahre Lions Club International realisiert werden.
INTERMUSIK
Niemandem fällt es leicht, seine Heimat zu verlassen. Doch die Menschen mit Zuwanderungs­geschichte, die mit ihren Fähigkeiten und Talenten nach Deutschland kommen sind eine Bereicherung für die Gesellschaft und machen einen interkulturellen Austausch möglich. Sie schaffen die Grundlagen für Begegnung und Dialog.

Durch die Finanzierung des Innovations­fonds Kunst des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst des Landes Baden-Württemberg und die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fachbereich Arbeit und Soziales der Stadt Mannheim kann die Popakademie Baden-Württemberg das Projekt INTERMUSIK realisieren.

Das Projekt bietet Geflüchteten in der LEA - Landeserstaufnahmeeinrichtung, Industriestraße/Pyramidenstraße Mannheim einen Raum, die Musik ihrer Heimat mit der hiesigen Musikkultur zu verschmelzen. Es gilt die musikalischen Fähigkeiten und Potentiale zu fördern und Kompetenzen zu entdecken, um diese auf der Basis der Herkunftskultur weiterzuentwickeln.

Die Bewohner der LEA können wöchentlich an Musik-Workshops teilnehmen und musizieren. Die Workshops sind kostenlos und für Interessierte ab 18 Jahren zugänglich. Die fachliche Anleitung der Workshops übernehmen Alumni und Studierende der Popakademie Baden-Württemberg.
(F)Altenrock
In dem generationenübergreifenden Popmusik-Pilotprojekt Komponiere Deinen Neckarsong haben ca. 30 ältere Bürger und Bürgerinnen mit Hilfe von Studierenden der Popakademie ihr Liebe zu Mannheim in dem eigens geschriebenen und komponierten Lied Neckarsong ausgedrückt und auf der Bühne in der Popakademie vor Publikum erfolgreich präsentiert. Durch die anschließende finanzielle Zuwendung über den Fuchs-Petrolub-Förderpreis konnte das Projekt in einem kontinuierlichen Rahmen über ein Jahr hinweg fortgeführt werden.

Im Mehrgenerationenhaus in Mannheim erarbeiten Senioren gemeinsam mit Studierenden der Popakademie eigene popmusikalische Texte und Kompositionen und arbeiten immer wieder auf eine Konzert­situation hin. Die Teilnehmer im Alter von 60+ Jahren bestimmen dabei selbst die zugrunde­liegenden Thematiken. Sie drücken in ihren Texten die innere Stimme einer Generation aus und zeigen ihre Sicht auf das Leben.

Kurz nach Beginn des Projekts im Jahr 2012 gründeten die Teilnehmer die Band (F)Altenrock. Neben dem Gesang durch den Pop-Chor werden auch die Instrumente von der Gruppe übernommen. Durch die regelmäßigen wöchentlichen Probetermine konnten bereits mehrere öffentliche Auftritte absolviert werden, beispielsweise beim Neujahrsempfang der Stadt Mannheim im Januar 2014. In naher Zukunft sind weitere Auftritte und Studioarbeit in der Popakademie geplant.

Die Integration von Musik in den privaten Alltag fördert das Wahrnehmungs- und Ausdrucksvermögen, Kreativität, Sozialverhalten und Konzentrations­fähigkeit. Somit ist Popmusik gerade für Senioren ein geeignetes Instrument, um sich körperlich und geistig fit zu halten. Im Rahmen der Workshops erweitern die Studierenden und Senioren ihren gegenseitigen Erfahrungshorizont und vertiefen ihr Verständnis gegenüber den jeweiligen Bedürfnissen des Anderen. Die Workshops leisten somit einen wertvollen Beitrag zur Generationenverständigung.

Außerdem nehmen Mitarbeiter des Mehrgenerationenhauses und Multiplikatoren aus dem Bereich Soziale Gesundheit an Qualifizierungs­maßnahmen des Bereichs Kulturelle Bildung teil. Diese Maßnahmen werden von Master-Studierenden des Fachbereichs Populäre Musik durchgeführt.

Der Unterricht wird seit 2014 durch den Innovationsfonds Kunst des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst MWK gefördert.
Schülerworkshop
Sie interessieren sich für einen Ferien- oder Wochenendworkshop in Ihrer Schule, Gemeinde oder Ihrem Verein?

Neben den In-House Workshops und Fortbildungsangeboten bietet die Popakademie die Möglichkeit der externen Durchführung von Projekten und Workshops für Schüler ab der Klassenstufe 5 an. Im Rahmen von Ganz- oder Halbtages-Coachings werden die Schüler zusammen mit unseren Coaches eigene Songtexte schreiben, in einer Band spielen oder bekannte Popsongs neu interpretieren. Weitere musikalische Inhalte können auf Wunsch auch individuell auf Zielgruppen angepasst werden.

Innerhalb dieser Workshops werden die Kinder und Jugendlichen mithilfe von Bodypercussion kreativ an die Grundlagen der Rhythmik herangeführt. Sie können sich an den Instrumenten E-Gitarre, E-Bass, Schlagzeug oder Keyboard ausprobieren und neue Erfahrungen sammeln, oder als Gruppe einen eigenen selbstgeschriebenen Song einüben und als Band bzw. Chor vortragen.

Wir unterstützen Sie mit kompetenter Beratung hinsichtlich Organisation, Planung und Konzeption der Workshops.

Neben diesen Projekten werden regelmäßig individuelle Coachings und Workshops im Bereich der Popmusikvermittlung und der kulturellen Bildung ausgerichtet. Die Fort- und Weiterbildungs­angebote im Bereich der Popmusik­pädagogik richten sich an Lehrer, pädagogische Fachkräfte und Mitarbeiter aus Unternehmen. Ziel dieser Coachings ist es, die Musik als festen Bestandteil der Kultur zu verstehen und diese im alltäglichen Umgang in Schulen und Kindertages­stätten zu etablieren. Die kreative Auseinandersetzung mit Musik eröffnet den Teilnehmern andere Sichtweisen auf alltägliche Aufgaben­stellungen und entwickelt spielerisch neue Methoden der Problemlösung und Gesprächsführung.

Lehrerfortbildung
Popmusik ist wichtiger Bestandteil moderner, kultureller Bildung, denn die Integration von Musik in den schulischen Alltag fördert Wahrnehmungs- und Ausdrucks­vermögen, Kreativität, Sprachentwicklung, Sozialverhalten, Teamfähigkeit und Konzentrations­fähigkeit. Bereits im Kindesalter können die Grundsteine für eine spätere erfolgreiche schulische und berufliche Laufbahn gelegt werden. Die Popakademie bietet halb- oder ganztägige Fortbildungen für Lehrerinnen und Lehrer und pädagogische Fachkräfte an.

Folgende Module können innerhalb der Coachings und Workshops gewählt werden. Die Auswahl des Themas für z.B. Songwriting wird dabei individuell auf die Teilnehmergruppe und den dazu gehörigen beruflichen Hintergrund abgestimmt.
  • Bodypercussion/ Warm Up
  • Bandcoaching
  • Songwriting/ Gesang
  • Singalong/ A-Cappella
  • Songaufnahme
Workshop Teambuilding
Teambuilding schafft Vertrauen, steigert die persönliche Kompetenz und eröffnet spielerisch neue Wege der Kommunikation. Musik stärkt das Zusammengehörigkeitsgefühl, fördert gegenseitiges Zuhören und hilft, die unterschiedlichen Qualitäten von Menschen wertzuschätzen.

Erleben Sie, wie das gemeinsame Musizieren ihr Team stärkt und kreatives Denken und Handeln fördert. Die Popakademie Baden-Württemberg steht Ihnen als kompetenter Partner für musikalische Workshops und Coachings mit teambildendem Charakter zur Seite.

Weitere Informationen oder ein unverbindliches Angebot zu ihrem Workshop oder Coaching erhalten sie bei Danijela Albrecht oder Tobias Reiter.

top