Barrierearme Seite
About us / News / 09. October 2023
© ZKM Karlsruhe

Award ceremony at the Giga-Hertz-Festival »Radical Polytronics«

09. October 2023

The Giga-Hertz Prize for Electronic Music and Sound Art has been awarded since 2007. With submissions from over 40 countries per call, the prize is one of the most prestigious of its kind internationally. This year, the ZKM | Karlsruhe, the SWR Experimentalstudio and the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg are jointly offering prize money of 25,000 Euro.

The main prize of €10,000 for renowned composers of electronic music with a lasting influence on the aesthetics and development of this genre is determined by the jury's suggestions and not selected from the entries.

Composers and sound artists were able to apply for two Giga-Hertz Production Prizes (each worth €5,000) as well as the newly established 2022 PopExperimental Prize, which will be awarded this year in cooperation with the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg (endowed with €5,000).

This year's winners are composer Laurie Spiegel, who receives the main prize for lifetime achievement, composer and performer Lea Bertucci, and sound artist Jessica Ekomane, who both received a production award. The Price PopExperimental goes to the Finnish-German family trio This Machine! Honorary Mentions go to Mexican acousmatic composer Manuel Rocha Iturbide, Kenyan composer Nyokabi Kariũki, and Polish musician and composer Piotr Kurek. Honorary Mentions in the PopExperimental section go to bela, Sophia Mitiku and Rashaad Newsome.

The award ceremony will take place on December 6, 2023 (admission to the award ceremony is free) and is part of the several-day Giga-Hertz festival "Radical Polytronics", which invites to concerts around electronical music, experiments and pop, DJ sets, artist talks and workshops for all ages. The festival pass costs 25€ (reduced 17,50 €), day tickets cost 10€ (reduced 5€).

The complete program, the link to the pre-sale, as well as further information about the award winners can be found on the ZKM website.