Barrierearme Seite
About us / News / 01. December 2023
© ZKM Karlsruhe

Giga-Hertz-Festival publishes program

01. December 2023

The ZKM | Karlsruhe awards the annual Giga Hertz Prize for electronic music in cooperation with the SWR Experimentalstudio. This year's winner for her life's work is the American composer Laurie Spiegel.

For the first time, the award ceremony is embedded in a multi-day festival. From Wednesday to Sunday, concerts, DJ sets, artist talks and workshops for all age groups will cover the entire spectrum of contemporary electronic music and sound art. The highlight of the festival is the presentation of the Giga Hertz Award on Saturday evening (Giga Hertz Festival for Electronic Music and Sound Art 2023 "Radical Polytronics" 06.12.2023 - 10.12.2023)
The Giga-Hertz-Festival 2023 is entitled "Radical Polytronics". Over five days, composers and musicians will celebrate the radical power and fascinating diversity of electronic music and sound art in concerts, artist talks and workshops. Since its foundation, the ZKM | Karlsruhe has offered artists the opportunity to compose and perform in a radically open artistic laboratory situation, away from the mainstream.

The program of the Giga-Hertz-Festival 2023:
Arne Braun,
State Secretary, Ministry of Science,
Research and the Arts, Baden-Württemberg
Dominika Szope,
Head of the Cultural Office of the City of Karlsruhe

Wednesday, 06.12.2023
20:00, Kubus
" Sonic Moods"
Opening concert with Oren Ambarchi & Puce Mary

Thursday, 07.12.2023
7:00 pm, Media Theater
Concert by the SWR Experimentalstudio and the Explore Ensemble present
John Croft " l'aura che trema", German premiere Beatrice Dillon "Seven Reorganizations"
Christian Mason "Hölderlin's Madness", world premiere
Lotte Betts-Dean (mezzo-soprano) Thorwald Jorgensen (theremin)
Explore Ensemble

SWR Experimentalstudio: realization live-electronics
Mirella Weingarten, Wiebke Pöpel: video installation
21:00, Kubus
" Acousmatic Dreamland"
By and with Ludger Brümmer
Works: "La Cloche sans Valleese", "Deconstructing Double District", "Nyx"

Friday, 08.12.2023
from 14:00, BÄM
Workshop Sound@BÄM - special edition of the BÄMlab as part of the Giga-Hertz-Festival
18:00, lecture hall
Book presentation
The future viability of acoustic ecology: On the new edition of R. Murray Schafer's "The Order of Sounds" presented by Prof. Sabine Breitsameter
PopExperimental concerts:
20:00, Kubus
Thomas Köner (world premiere)
21:15, Media Theater
Concert with bela (PopExperimental Honorary Mention 2023) and This Machine! (PopExperimental Award 2023)
10:30 pm, Foyer
Get together & DJ performances I:
luxxuryproblems b2b agnes

Saturday, 09.12.2023
14:00 to 15:00, Cube
"Uncharted Interactions"
World premieres by the 2021/22 Production Award winners Yu-Jung Chen / Yvette Janine Jackson "EXTANT" / Sam Dunscombe (clarinet), Judith Hamann (cello), SWR Experimentalstudio: Joachim Haas & Maurice Oeser (sound direction)
Artist workshops 15:00: Media workshop
Live coding: Sonic Pi with Michael Vierling and media theater
"Sonic Meditations" after Pauline Oliveros by and with Blanc Sceol
From 18:30
Presentation of the Giga Hertz Prize 2023
with concerts by the 2023 prizewinners, Kubus
Get Together & DJ Performances II (from 21:30)

Sunday, 10.12.2023
From 14:00 (tba), Kubus
Lifetime Achievement: Laurie Spiegel
Panel discussion "The Great Unknown: Musicking in the Age of Early Computer Music" / "Das große Unbekannte: Musicking in the Age of Early Computer Music"
With Bettina Wackernagel, Dorit Chrysler & Ludger Brümmer
in German language
Ludger Brümmer in conversation with Laurie Spiegel
in English language
Portrait concert Laurie Spiegel
Winner:inside 2023
The US composer Laurie Spiegel receives this year's Giga Hertz Prize for her life's work. The production prizes go to the American composer and performer Lea Bertucci and the French-born sound artist Jessica Ekomane. The Finnish-German trio This Machine! receives the PopExperimental prize.
Honorable mentions / Giga Hertz Prize 2023 Manuel Rocha Iturbide // Nyokabi Kariũki // Piotr Kurek
Honorable mentions / PopExperimental bela prize // Sophia Mitiku // Rashaad Newsome
The Giga-Herz main prize and the production prizes are awarded in cooperation with the SWR Experimentalstudio. The PopExperimental Award is sponsored by the Fördergesellschaft ZKM/HfG e.V. and will be awarded this year for the first time together with the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg.